Skip to main content


Please send your submission to:

Fabrizio Govi - ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography Chair
Libreria Govi
Via Bononcini, 24
I-41124 Modena

Or contact the ILAB Secretariat:
Angelika Elstner:


The ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography was founded in the early days of the League. In 2008, its name was changed into ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography to honour a very generous gift granted by the Breslauer Foundation. The Breslauer Foundation was set up by Dr. Bernard H. Breslauer (1918-2004), an ILAB bookseller who had a life-long passion for the field of bibliography.

This international Prize of $10,000 US is awarded every fourth year to the author(s) of the most original and outstanding published work in the broad field of bibliography.
In 2018, a 2nd prize of $5000 and a 3rd prize of $3000 was awarded.

Any aspect of bibliography (e.g. enumerative, textual, history of the book, design, binding, book trade, etc.) is admitted. Certain categories are not eligible, notably catalogues of books (or exhibitions of books) intended for sale, and translations of works appearing in another language. Apart from the Prize, the jurors may at their discretion award Honourable Mentions to other deserving entries.

The purpose of the prize is to draw attention to the best academic work being done in the field, to reward and honour it in appropriate terms, and to publicize the League's support for the original scholarship on which the book trade so much depends on. 

To submit a publication for the 2022 prize, please contact the ILAB Secretariat. 

Impressions from the 2018 Awards Ceremony in London

Breslauer Prize



Kok winner

ILAB announces Winner 2018!

The winner of the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography, sponsored by the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers with the generous support of the B.H. Breslauer Foundation, is now officially announced!

[...] Read more
Prize jury 2018
17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Prize Jury 2018

In October 2017, Prize Secretary Fabrizio Govi of Libreria Alberto Govi, invited the jury to his hometown Modena in Italy.

[...] Read more
Submissions Collage
17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Submitted Books 2018

Throughout the past weeks and months writers, publishers, librarians, journalists, scholars, antiquarian booksellers, book collectors and all who are interested in bibliography and the history of the book were invited to submit books to the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography.

[...] Read more