Aller au contenu


ILAB Breslauer Prize

ILAB logo gold

"I must say it sometimes seems there are rather a lot of Prizes. We have no sooner got over the Booker, the Whitbread and the Orange, when it’s time for the Baftas and the Oscars - and hundreds of others. But the League’s Bibliography Prize is different."

Raymond Kilgariff

The ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography, worth 10.000 $, is one of the most prestigious prizes in the field of bibliography. Every fourth year it detects and awards a particularly significant reference work within a selection of scholarly books about books published in the previous years.

The 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography will be awarded in 2018 to one or more books published in any language and in any part of the world between April 2013 and April 2017. Any work submitted to the Prize must be a published book available on the market. The prize jury will admit all publications relating to bibliography in a very broad sense (textual bibliography, history of the book, bookbinding, papermaking, type-founding, library catalogues, short-title catalogues of a single author or typographer, etc.). The jury will not take into consideration ebooks and catalogues of books intended for sale and translations of previously published works. Submissions for the 2018 Prize are now closed.

To view all submissions, please visit the Prize Website here.

Jury for the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography:

Bettina Wagner – State Library, Bamberg (Germany)

Daniel de Simone – Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC (United States)

Yann Sordet – Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris (France)

Winfried Kuhn - Antiquariat Winfried Kuhn, Berlin (Germany)

Justin Croft – Justin Croft Antiquarian Books, Faversham (United Kingdom), and

Fabrizio Govi – Libreria Alberto Govi, Modena (Italy)

Fabrizio Govi serves as the new Prize Secretary. He follows Arnoud Gerits who oversaw the 15th and 16th ILAB Breslauer Prize in the years 2010 and 2014.

In order to gather as many recently published editions in this field as possible, the jury invites publishers, librarians, collectors, antiquarian booksellers and all bibliophiles, whenever they might come over a significant reference work for the Prize, to contact the Prize Secretary:

Fabrizio Govi

Secretary, ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Libreria Alberto Govi
Via Bononcini, 24
41124 Modena (Italia)

phone 0039 059 373629 - email



The 16th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography was officially presented to Jon Gilbert for his superb and outstanding work "IAN FLEMING. THE BIBLIOGRAPHY" (Preface by Fergus Fleming. Foreword by Michael L. Vanblaricum. Edited by Brad Frank. London, Queen Anne Press, 2012).

For more information please visit the official website