Skip to main content

Current Edition

17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Prize 2018


The ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography, worth 10.000 $, is one of the most prestigious prizes in the field of bibliography. Every fourth year it detects and awards a particularly significant reference work within a selection of scholarly books about books published in the previous years. The 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography will be awarded in 2018 to one or more books published in any language and in any part of the world between Apr

il 2013 and April 2017. Any work submitted to the Prize must be a published book available on the market. The prize jury will admit all publications relating to bibliography in a very broad sense (textual bibliography, history of the book, bookbinding, papermaking, type-founding, library catalogues, short-title catalogues of a single author or typographer, etc.). The jury will not take into consideration ebooks and catalogues of books intended for sale and translations of previously published works. The books can be submitted to the prize at any time but latest by the end of April in 2017 by sending a single copy to the Prize Secretary Fabrizio Govi. The jury for the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography has been newly established and is already at work. It is formed by:Bettina Wagner – State Library, Bamberg (Germany) Daniel de Simone – Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC (United States)Yann Sordet – Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris (France)Winfried Kuhn – Antiquariat Winfried Kuhn, Berlin (Germany)Justin Croft – Justin Croft Antiquarian Books, Faversham (United Kingdom), and Fabrizio Govi – Libreria Alberto Govi, Modena (Italy)

[...] Read More
17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Prize Jury


Prize Jury 2018 at Work In October 2017, Prize Secretary Fabrizio Govi of Libreria Alberto Govi, invited the jury to his hometown Modena in Italy. The bookshop offered to be an appropriate venue for a jury meeting to assess the over 50 outstanding titles that had been submitted for the 2018 Prize.

17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Submitted Books 2018


Submitted Books for 2018 Throughout the past weeks and months writers, publishers, librarians, journalists, scholars, antiquarian booksellers, book collectors and all who are interested in bibliography and the history of the book were invited to submit books to the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography. Submissions for the 2018 Prize have now closed.

The ILAB Breslauer Bibliography Prize