Aller au contenu principal

17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography

Prize 2018

The ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography is sponsored by the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers with the generous support of the B.H. Breslauer Foundation.


This prestigious prize in the field of bibliographical studies is awarded every fourth year to the most significant reference work within a selection of scholarly books on bibliography, published in the previous years and submitted to the Prize jury.

The B.H.Breslauer Foundation who have provided an endowment since 2010, was set up by Dr. B.H. Breslauer, one of the most recognized antiquarian booksellers in the 20th century with a keen interest in bibliography and bibliophily.

The jury considers publications relating to bibliography in a very broad sense from textual bibliography to history of the book, bookbinding, papermaking, type-founding, library catalogues, short-title catalogues of a single author or typographer and further afield.

Writers, publishers, librarians, journalists, scholars, antiquarian booksellers, book collectors and all who are interested in bibliography and the history of the book are invited to submit books to the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers.

The jury for the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography has been established and is formed by:

Bettina Wagner – State Library, Bamberg (Germany)

Daniel de Simone – Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC (United States)

Yann Sordet – Bibliothèque Mazarine, Paris (France)

Winfried Kuhn – Antiquariat Winfried Kuhn, Berlin (Germany)

Justin Croft – Justin Croft Antiquarian Books, Faversham (United Kingdom), and

Fabrizio Govi – Libreria Alberto Govi, Modena (Italy)

The winner of the 2018 Prize will be announced on Monday, 16th April 2018. 

The awards ceremony for the 17th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography will take place during the ABA Rare Book Fair in London on Friday, 25th May 2018. 

Fabrizio Govi (ILAB Vice-President) serves as the Prize Secretary.
He follows Arnoud Gerits who oversaw the 15th and 16th ILAB Breslauer Prize from 2010 - 2014.

In order to gather as many recently published editions in this field as possible, the jury invites publishers, librarians, collectors, antiquarian booksellers and all bibliophiles, to send submissions for the next prize which will be awarded in 2022 to the Prize Secretary:

Fabrizio Govi, Secretary, ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography
Libreria Alberto Govi
Via Bononcini, 24
41124 Modena (Italia)

Tel: +39 059 373629

  • partage