Aller au contenu principal

Prize 2014

The Jury has honoured Jon Gilbert with the 16th Prize for his outstanding and superb bibliography on Ian Fleming and his works.

Prize 2010

Lotte Hellinga - Jan Storm van Leeuwen The 15th ILAB Breslauer Prize for Bibliography is awarded to Lotte Hellinga and Jan Storm van Leeuwen. 52 bibliographies and other works on the history of books, book production and libraries were submitted by their publishers. The average standard of the entries was remarkably high and for several works it was painful to have to deprive them of the recognition that goes with a prize, and that they richly deserve. At the same time, the jury was quite unanimous in its opinions and there can be little doubt that the books to which the prizes were awarded are exceptional, perhaps even in a class of their own. It is therefore fortunate that the new endowment of the ILAB Bibliography Prize, mostly realized from a grant by the B.H. Breslauer Foundation of New York, has enabled the jury to award two first prizes of $10,000 each to Lotte Hellinga and Jan Storm van Leeuwen. Without this flexibility the jury would have found its task well-nigh impossible.

2006 - 14th Prize

Two Winners for the 14th ILAB Bilbiography Prize 2006 "Is anything ever definitive?’ she said - ever so sweetly. Well I guess not. But these two books come pretty close. They will still be standing when we have long been gone and the International League is proud to honour them with its Prize." Raymond Kilgarriff

2002 - 13th Prize

Largest Prize in the Bibliographical World is Awarded in Helsinki to Anna Perälä The 13th ILAB Bibliographical Prize of $10,000 has been awarded to Anna Perälä, for her atlas of Finnish typography, 1642-1827, a monumental two volume work, published in three languages, Finnish, Swedish and German (Suomen typografinen atlas, Finsk typografisk atlas, Typographischer Atlas Finnlands, 1622-1827). The award was presented to the author in person at a dinner in Helsinki, Finland, by the President of the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB), Kay Craddock, during the recent Congress of the ILAB held in four countries in Scandinavia. The ILAB, founded in 1947, is an organization that encompasses 2000 booksellers from 20 national associations around the world. The professionalism and expertise of these booksellers is dependent, in large measure, on their ability to research and verify their statements about the books and printed material that they offer. Bibliographies and studies of book history are the tools of trade that these professional booksellers rely upon. Forty years ago, the ILAB Bibliographical Prize was founded with the aim of honouring authors in this field. Every four years it awards $US10,000.00 to the author of the best work produced in that period, either published or unpublished, of learned bibliography, or of significant new research into the history of the book and its related trades.

1977 - Georges A. Deny

Le Prix Triennal de Bibliographie fondé par La LILA

1964 - First Award

Triennal Prize for Bibliography 1964 "It has been decided, unanimously, not to award the triennal prize in bibliography 1964. Certain works, although noteworthy, do not quite stand up to the tests for the award of a prize." Georges A. Deny